Franklin Square Chamber Installs New Officers

- Original Story by By Jackie Nash, Long Island Herald

The Franklin Square Chamber of Commerce elected new officers for 2012 in November. Those officers were sworn in during an installation ceremony on Jan. 18, at the Plattduetsche Park Restaurant in Franklin Square.

Judge Joseph Calabrese conducted the installation of new Chamber president Joseph Ardito, Esq., who is replacing Mary Seifert.

Town of Hempstead attorney Joe Ra installed the Chamber's other new officers, including Bruno Caracciolo, who was named first vice president; Lisa Dellipizzi, named second vice president; Maria Caliendo, named third vice president; Patrice Maresca-Sehne, fourth vice president; Debbie Hickey, treasurer; Frank Culmone, secretary; and Larry Prendergast, executive secretary.

Additionally, the Franklin Square Chamber's new Board of Directors members were sworn in by Legislator Carrié Solages (D-Elmont). They include Bruno V. Caracciolo, Frank Francia, Vincent Giordano, Dave Herman, Louis Milazzo, Glen Rogers, Mike Sacco, Mary Seifert, Bill Youngfert and Bill Zacharias. The chamber accepted the resignation of past board member Scott Horowitz during the event.

Ardito, the chamber's new president, spoke during the event, thanking Seifert for her past tenure as the chamber's president, during which time, she served the chamber well through her "endless energy and devotion," he said on Jan. 20, adding, "Mary assured me of her continued commitment to the chamber, and her eagerness to assist the chamber, going forward, as a board member."

Ardito also thanked the chamber for giving him the opportunity to serve as president, adding that he would do his best to help stimulate local business and grow the chamber through the collaborative effort of all members — a goal that promotes the chamber's motto: "If you care, shop the Square." For 2012, he said, the chamber plans to voice its concerns to elected officials regarding issues affected businesseses and residents of Franklin Square, and hold a town hall-type meeting, where members can speak directly to elected officials regarding those types of matters.

Finally, Ardito encouraged chamber members to remind businessowners and managers of the benefits offered by the chamber, as well as its mission to sustain Franklin Square's economic vitality.

Several local leaders, including civic association representatives and elected officials, attended the ceremony, including Legislator Vincent Muscarella, Town of Hempstead Supervisor Kate Murray, Franklin Square Historical Society President Dr. Paul van Wie, Gateway Youth Outreach Executive Director Pat Boyle and Franklin Square & Munson Fire Department Commissioner Dennis Lyons.